Fort Louis Archaeology Site (French 1691-1713) is located along Battery Road, on the flats of Jerseyside, Placentia, Newfoundland & Labrador. It is situated north side of the Placentia Lift Bridge that cross the narrow gut between Placentia and Jerseyside. Step back in history as you discover the story behind Fort Louis.
Construction started in 1691 as a defensive structure to protect the French residences of Placentia and the harbour. By 1694 Governor de Brouillan reported that Fort Louis was fully enclosed. It was 300 paces in circumference with two bastions, and included the governor’s headquarters and garrison barracks.
There was a wooden stockade protected by 26 cannons, in batteries positioned on three sides. By 1703 Fort Louis was a stone structure with walls 16 feet high by 8 feet wide. Because it was situated so close to the water’s edge Fort Louis was under continual pounding from waves causing a constant problem with maintenance.
Fort Louis was initially constructed by the French in the 17th century and later modified by the English in the 1720s. The Treaty of Utrecht ended the War of the Spanish Succession in 1713; one of the treaties terms was for Placentia to be turned over to the English.
Today, low lying rock walls are visible, outlining the original foundation and structures of the former fort. Although the boundaries of the Fort property extended to the water’s edge on each side, much of that area is now occupied by privately owned dwellings.
Active archaeology digs on this site were ongoing from 2001 – 2011 where many unique and interesting artefacts were uncovered. This area is no longer operational as a dig. However, it is open from June to September as an interpretation site where tours are available upon request.
Parking is available adjacent to the site. Washroom facilities are not available.
For more information contact the Town of Placentia at 709-227-2151.
GPS Location is N 47° 251657, W -53° 964347